New TEFLtastic communication games March 2010 Part Three

It suddenly occured to me that when I argue with people about the value of worksheets, we are often basically not talking about the same thing. I don’t do gapfills and other mechanical written grammar and vocab exercises in class more than once a year, if ever, let alone word searches or crosswords. I do believe in doing those kinds of things for homework, but unfortunately I can’t motivate myself to write an activity that I will never see my students doing, so I have to rely on workbooks and self-study books for those. Therefore, 90% of the things that I’ve been calling worksheets and handouts on this site are probably better described as communication games (for better or worse), and here are the latest bunch:

Comparatives and superlatives Compare your last weekends

Next weekend bluff

Money weekends discussion

(There’s a list of all my activities about weekends here if that ain’t enough for you)

Logic puzzles articles practice

Test your partners’ vocab classroom questions quiz (the best way I’ve found so far to improve on “Teacher, spelling!” and “What means…?”, whilst also being great vocab practice- this version for Inside Out Upper, but easily adaptable)

Vocab and classroom questions revision (to be used a couple of weeks after the one above)

Big and little money idioms (actually a new and improved version of one from last year, now with discussion questions and leading onto an articles grammar presentation)

Email language definitions game (also a polished up version- adding a speaking warmer to writing classes, now including useful links)

Comparing countries

Here’s the last lot of worksheets/ handouts/ games/ photocopiables/ whathaveyous:

New worksheets Mar 2010 Part Two

This entry was posted in Business and ESP writing, Business English games, call my bluff, comparatives, Determiners and articles, Discussion questions, Email, Future tenses, Materials, Photocopiable worksheets, superlatives, TEFL, Vocabulary and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New TEFLtastic communication games March 2010 Part Three

  1. Paul says:

    Thanks for these. I’ve already pencilled in some of these for a couple of my classes. Doubtless, you have far more experience than I have, so I’m reticent to make any suggestions but I did want to recommend one type of crossword puzzle activity which I have found very helpful in getting them speaking. I put the students in pairs and I give each of them a crossword grid with just half the grid filled in. Each has a different half. They just have the words, no clues. They then have to ask their partner for a missing word – i.e. what is one down – who has to explain without actually mentioning the word.

    The logic for this is that they are sometimes in situations when they do not know the specific word they need but can explain what they mean. And I find the students usually enjoy it.

  2. Alex Case says:

    Good point, Paul. I do something similar with Definitions Game and Taboo, and I’d say that what you are describing is a communication game as I’m describing rather than a task which is close to a traditional crossword.

Comments are closed.