History for ESL students

Updated 13 June 2022

I am in no way an expert in either history or CLIL, but as I’ve written this material and there didn’t seem to be much available when I was looking thought I may as well put my stuff out there in case it helps anyone. If anyone has any links to good stuff on the topic or wants to point out historical (or even historic) errors on mine, that’s what the comments box is for:

My articles on the topic of history in ESL classes

Interesting activities and topics about the Middle Ages for ESL classes – LINK UPDATED

Interesting topics and activities about ancient history and prehistory for ESL classes – LINK UPDATED

Combining history topics and English grammar (prepositions, determiners, reference words, passives, reported speech, Present Perfect, Simple Past, Past Continuous, Past Perfect, Present Perfect Continuous, Will, Second Conditional, Third and mixed conditionals, linking words, infinitive of purpose, modals, comparatives)

History themed art, craft and project ideas for ESL students – LINK UPDATED

My flashcards

Medieval vocabulary picture flashcards

My history worksheets

Past and present crime vocabulary and speaking

Past modals history discussion (conspiracy theories)

Third conditional history discussion questions

Old and new inventions random pelmanism

English through history roleplays- Explorers

English through history debate topics

World history second conditional discussion questions

History vocabulary for ESL students- the Middle Ages

IELTS Masterclass history vocabulary

IELTS Speaking on the past and history

Onestopclil history worksheets

Christopher Columbus for primary students – LINK FIXED

Famous explorers for primary students – LINK FIXED

The Cold War for secondary students – LINK FIXED

There is also plenty more stuff there on Onestop for paid subscribers.

If anyone wants more stuff and links to other suitable materials, I’ve got plenty somewhere and will dig it out.

This entry was posted in CLIL, Conditionals, conjunctions, Determiners and articles, Future tenses, Grammar games, infinitive of purpose, Modals, past tenses, Prepositions, reported speech, Second conditional, Teaching methods and methodologies, TEFL, Will for predictions. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to History for ESL students

  1. David V. says:

    Great work Alex. For me this is the future of our profession and students can handle this if they choose to do so. One of the aspects of CLIL I like mosty is that there is no ‘easy’ or ‘difficult’ language to be learned, just different ways of using language to say what you need to say to complete a piece of work.

  2. JV says:

    Kudos, Alex! Do you know a World History textbook that is ESL friendly?

  3. Alex Case says:

    Fraid not, had a good look but nothing. Would’ve saved me a lot of trouble if there had been one…

  4. Alex Case says:

    Just noticed that Richmond has released a CLIL history book for secondary students called Essential History. Haven’t seen it, but can get someone a freebie copy if they will write me a review

  5. JV says:

    I have been trying to get a copy of Essential History published by Richmond. I have e-mailed their divisions in Spain, UK, and FLorida, but none of them e-mailed me back. Alex, do you know some other ways I could get a copy? I am not that good at writing reviews :). Thanks!

  6. Alex Case says:

    Anyone can write a review, honest. Will give you lots of help, and you’d get a copy for free…

  7. Adam says:

    Hi, Alex. I realize that you offered to procure this “Essential History” in exchange for a review almost exactly one year ago, but if no one’s taken you up on it, yet, I’d be happy to oblige.

  8. Allallt says:

    I’ve just been thrown into CLIL, I love it–working with that ability group and teaching subjects I find more interesting–but you’ve got to take the good with the bad and my history knowledge has let me down.
    I really like these resources, especially the conspiracy theory debates. Thanks for sharing them!

  9. alexcase says:

    Thanks for the positive feedback. Luckily history is my hobby (or maybe my secondary hobby if you can call this blog one), so was really glad to be asked to write that stuff. Was still tricky though!

  10. S.V. Lowery says:

    Are you still doing this? I’m an “auxiliar de conversación” in Andalucia, and one of the CLIL subjects I work in is history. There’s a book I’m not crazy about–the Spanish version is way better–but it does supply a base from which to work. It’s put out by Vicens Vives, and appears to be an English translation-cum-adaptation of the Spanish text “Nuevo Demos” (García Sebastián, Gatell Arimont, Albet Mas, and Benejam Arguimbau) (andalucia:2011).

  11. alexcase says:

    If your question is directed at me, in fact I’ve never taught this – I wrote the materials for other people’s courses, though I have used them in my general (adult) EFL classes. Thanks for the book tip – can you give us a link, e.g. to Amazon?

    Cheers

    Alex

Comments are closed.