A great warmer for managers who have to cover classes

This is based on an activity which managers in a chain of school that I work for love passing onto teachers in teacher training workshops. In order to repay the favour, I’ve adapted it to be more suitable for said Directors of Studies when they have to rush out to cover a teacher who is “sick” (or even a “teacher” who is “sick”).

The manager writes the ten statements below on the board and the students guess which are true, preferably after asking questions to get more details of each thing (during which time the DoS should continue lying if it is one of the untrue ones). The ten statements to write up are:

  1. I don’t believe your teacher is really sick
  2. I’m going to interrogate you later to try and confirm my suspicions that your teacher is an alcoholic
  3. I’m going to make your teacher suffer for making me cover this lesson
  4. I’m going to make him/ her suffer even more for not telling me how bad your English is before I prepared this class
  5. I’ve come to despise all English teachers since I’ve had to manage them
  6. What makes me hate them more is that I wanted to carry on teaching myself but my wife made me apply to be a manager
  7. I applied to be a manager because I hated teaching
  8. I applied to be a manager because I was such a terrible teacher
  9. Actually I wanted to be a poet but my poetry blog has got me nothing but abusive comments
  10. I’m sure one of the abusive commenters is your teacher

Come to think of it, at least 7 of those might be true for most people who try this game, so might need a little tweaking. Any other ideas?

Inspired (?) by a conversation with Tokyo Fox. More sensible bluffing games here and more TEFL silliness here.

This entry was posted in Teaching English as a Foreign Language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A great warmer for managers who have to cover classes

  1. Tony Gurr says:

    Shiriously? Do people actually use this? What type of feedback do they get from students….and teachers?

    TY for sharing…


  2. alexcase says:

    Err, no, obviously no one has ever used that actual list of ten statements in the classroom… It is based on a real TEFL game though, if a less than inspiring one.

    Just seen a hilarious tweet by someone who seems to think that I’m a DoS recommending this to other DoSes. It’s not the longest of posts, does no one actually read anything all the way through before tweeting??

Leave a comment (link optional and email never shared)

