What you should be and really are thinking in class

They learnt a surprising amount from that textbook listening/ They were surprisingly unbored by that textbook listening

How much are they learning from this activity?/ How much are they enjoying this activity and how long can I keep it going?

Great, this activity is working really well/ Damn, should have saved this activity for my observed lesson next week

We didn’t achieve half of what I wanted to/ That’s next lesson’s planning and photocopying already done then!

I wonder how well this activity is working/ I wonder if I can get a whole article out of this activity

I hope the conversation prompts I wrote get the right kinds of responses/ I hope the Tweets I wrote are getting responses

I wonder what those two students are saying/ I wonder what my Facebook friends are writing

Their English isn’t very good/ They are fit!

Their English is great/ Shame they aren’t fitter

Their grammar needs work/ Have they been working out?

Is that really an error or is just a variety of English I don’t know so well?/ Are those real or just plastic surgery?

They are never going to be able to communicate in English/ Being able to communicate in English probably doesn’t matter when you are that fit

Their English isn’t improving at all/ I can keep them in my class forever!

If their English doesn’t improve, they’ll never be able to communicate in their job or studies/ If their English doesn’t improve, I’ll have to teach them forever!

Their pronunciation needs some work/ They have such a cute accent!

I need to get them to purse their lips more/ I’d like to get them to purse their lips for me

They need some work on /th// I wonder if the spit that flies out during pron work could give me flu

I hope the students don’t pick up and start using that rather pidgin form I just used/ I hope the observer has been in the country so long they didn’t notice that rather pidgin form I just used

Would they benefit from another speaking game?/ Can I get away with another speaking game?

I probably don’t have to correct that/ How much time could I use up correcting that?

I should probably do something in order to achieve…/ I haven’t spoken or moved for a few minutes, so I should probably do something

I should change pairs now because…/ Suppose I could change pairs or something

There are just five minutes left to teach them something/ There are just five minutes left until lunch

How much did I learn from this?/ How much am I getting paid for this?

What was I hoping to achieve by… in that class, and did I achieve it?/ What was I hoping to achieve by getting into TEFL, and have I achieved any of it?

This entry was posted in Teaching English as a Foreign Language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment (link optional and email never shared)

