Guides to Cambridge Delta Module 2

I feel slightly less guilty than usual putting links to my own stuff first, as almost everything I could find not from a course provider on the topic was by, well, me. Top two are new this week:

An A to Z Guide to DELTA Module Two

Cambridge DELTA Module 2 by numbers

Being a Bell Regional Delta Tutor

and stuff from people called Cambridge ESOL, British Council etc, whoever all them are:

Official Cambridge handbook for tutors and candidates (Module Two is from pages 48 to 67)

The Distance DELTA course brochure- Module 2

DELTA experimental lessons suggested topics – blog post and good comments

Theory and practice in the DELTA Module 2 (more of a critical article than a guide)

This entry was posted in Cambridge Delta, Cambridge ESOL, TEFL. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guides to Cambridge Delta Module 2

  1. Razza says:

    Thanks for all this, Alex – just to point out, though, that the links to the forum threads (“DELTA written word counts” and “Did you enjoy the DELTA?”) are broken.

  2. alexcase says:

    Thanks. The whole site seems to be down, but it has reappeared before. If it’s really gone this time, will delete the links in a week or two.

  3. alexcase says:

    Doesn’t seem to be fixed, so just deleted the links. Thanks again for the headsup.

  4. fembot says:

    Hi Alex,

    So, if I have understood ‘Delta M2 by numbers’ correctly, the overall grade for the LS/SAs, and thus all of M2, depends entirely on the externally observed lesson?! Theoretically, someone could get Distinctions in every other lesson and essay, totally bomb in the external lesson (but scrape a Pass), yet would end up with a Pass overall? Also, distinction in written assignment + Pass in lesson = Pass?

    I ask as someone who is generally good at doing essays, but prone to meltdowns when being observed, even though I’m not normally a particularly nervous or bad teacher. I’m wondering, therefore, whether it is actually worth putting masses of effort into all the written assignments if it is likely to be in vain re: getting above a Pass, or even getting a Pass at all. I know that doing masses of preparation would hopefully result in a more confident live classroom performance, but as soon as the official Cambridge bod actually walks in I’m sure I will just go bleeeeeeurgh, anyway. So, is it practical to aim for Pa ass only, if it’s all about the external lesson?


  5. alexcase says:

    I’m afraid I haven’t been involved in the Delta since I wrote those articles (and suspected I wouldn’t and so wrote them in a vain attempt to help me remember the info in them). I think it’s not quite as extreme as what you say, but the external definitely counts more – and you can’t pass if you fail the external. As plenty of people actually fail, it’s probably worth thinking about doing the best you can rather than just doing enough to get a pass, though, because it’s difficult to guess how much that might be!

  6. fembot says:

    Oh I will defo do the best I can to pass, particularly the external one. However, for the other LS/SAs, which I will be nearly as nervous for in the observations and will therefore be unlikely to get more than a Pass in, if at all, I thought that I may as well not go overboard with the written assignments if “observed lesson grades trump essay grades.” I usually go bananas researching essays and perfecting my written organization and language, so it’s against my nature not to, but it seems it might not be worth it, and I should conserve time and energy for the observations instead. I will check with other people I know who have done M2 recently, to be sure.

    Thanks again!

Leave a comment (link optional and email never shared)

