When the TEFLbabyboomer generation retires

This story about how the Peace Corps are looking to bring more over 60s back into the classroom really caught my eye today. One reason was that my eye really was caught, seeing as I was pressed up against my newspaper by the rush hour Yamanote circular line crush and unable to even fold it another way, let alone turn the page. The other was I have been suffering from the walking stick shaking wrath of TEFL pensioners recently, so think getting them back into the classroom might be a good thing (that or more aqua aerobics).

Yes, I have recently been kicking the crap out of a 74 year old ex-TEFLer, something I haven’t done since I was 16*- under the arches of Lambeth Bridge, takes me back… I guess the fact I didn’t pour paraffin on the guy means I have made some progress in my life though. You can see the messy remains here.

The whole thing was a bit bizarre really, although I could just take it as an extension of my “TEFL MAs mess with your mind” philosophy, here meaning that when too many random unconnected semi-scientific theories mix with Alzheimers you really blow a fuse. More, though, it makes me wonder what a world full of retired TEFL teachers is going to be like. Here are some completely unsubstantiated ramblings on the matter:

When the TEFLbabyboomer generation retires:

-Jobs will both a minimum and a maximum number of years experience for teacher, as a way round age discrimination rules

– TEFL forums will have to have rules on the maximum length of posts, to cut down on 2500 word opuses (or should that be oppai in Latin?) from people who really have all day to write them (rather than people who seem to have all day to write them because they work in universities)

-TEFL forums will have special sections for reminiscing, to try and keep too much senile wandering off the topic off the other threads

– There will be the first recorded example of someone on a TEFL forum being told that they don’t know what they are talking about because they only have 25 years experience

– I’ll be able to spend 18 hours a day on this blog. Luckily for any readers who are still alive by that point, nodding off over the keyboard, short circuits from drooling between the keys and having to have a massage after typing each letter due to arthritis will mean I will actually be reduced to one blog entry a week.


**That is, it’s a joke that I’ve ever done this, rather than it is a joke that I haven’t done it since I was 16…

This entry was posted in MA TESOL, Retirement for TEFL teachers, Teacher training, TEFL. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment (link optional and email never shared)

